100 North Stone Avenue, Suite 801, Tucson, Arizona 85701
520-485-3689 520-485-3689

Sentencing Guidelines for Aggravated Assault under Arizona Law

Arizona statutory law sets out the circumstances under which a simple assault may turn into an aggravated assault. The designation may greatly impact the sentencing stage of the criminal process. A charge and conviction for assault or aggravated assault can yield dramatic consequences for the rest of your life. An Arizona defense attorney can assist you by exploring your legal defense, as well as sentence-reduction options.

Simple assault is defined as knowingly, intentionally or recklessly causing injury to another person, intentionally causing someone to have a reasonable fear of being harmed or knowingly touching someone to insult, injure or provoke that person. You can be charged with aggravated assault if you commit a simple misdemeanor assault under certain conditions. Aggravated assault crimes can be classified by their felony class.

  • Class 6 aggravated assault charges (resulting in an 18- 36-month prison sentence) can be filed against first-time offenders committing an assault in these instances:
    • Someone who is unable to resist
    • After entering the victim’s home while intending to commit assault
    • Against a minor younger than 15 years old, while being at least 18 years old
    • By touching someone in violation of a protection order
    • By knowingly targeting a certain class of people working for the public good, like teachers, paramedics and firefighters
    • A Class 4 aggravated assault felony may be charged if an assault results in temporary disfigurement of the victim; this may result in a four- to eight-year prison sentence.
    • Assault causing serious injury to someone else or assault committed with a weapon may result in a Class 3 felony conviction and five to 15 years in jail. If such an assault is committed against someone under the age of 15, a Class 2 felony may be charged, resulting in seven to 21 in prison.

The above sentence ranges are for first-time offenders only.

If you are charged with aggravated assault in Arizona, the Law Offices of Richard Bock can assist you by diligently examining all your legal options and strongly arguing for the lowest possible sentence in cases of conviction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X

Contact Form

We will respond to your inquiry in a timely fashion. Thank you.

Quick Contact Form