What are the Possible Consequences of a First DUI Charge?
In 2010, more than 10,000 people died in America in Alcohol-Impaired-Driving Crashes. In the same year, law enforcement arrested more than 1.4 million drivers for driving under influence (DUI). While driving under the influence is still relatively common, an arrest may have serious consequences for the short and longer term. If you have been charged with a DUI, a defense lawyer can answer your questions.
In Arizona, you can be charged with a DUI offense if you drive or actually physically control a motor vehicle and:
- You are under the influence of liquor, drugs, or a vapor-releasing substances and you are impaired to drive to the slightest degree
- You have a BAC of 0.08 or more up to 2 hours after driving or physically controlling the vehicle, from alcohol consumed during or before driving (“per se driving under the influence”)
- Your body contains an Arizona controlled substance
- You are a commercial motor vehicle driver, and your BAC level stands at 0.04 or more.
If you are arrested and charged with a DUI offense for the first time, this can lead to an Arizona class 1 misdemeanor conviction and you may face:
- A minimum mandatory jail sentence of 10 consecutive days without probation
- An ignition interlock installation for at least one year
- A minimum fine of $250
- Assessments of $500 each to be deposited in the Prison Construction and Operations Fund, as well as the Public Safety Equipment Fund
- Community restitution
- A requirement to participate in alcohol and drug screening, education and treatment programs
- A 90-day driver’s license suspension
- A criminal record
The penalties for repeat or aggravated DUI offenses are substantially higher than those mentioned above. If you are facing the possibly serious consequences of a DUI arrest, a DUI attorney can protect and properly inform you of your rights. At the Law Offices of Richard Bock, we are ready to draw on our wealth of experience and provide you with the legal protection you deserve.